Monday, December 5, 2011

The Sky is Everywhere = Oh. My. God.

Have you guys read The Sky is Everywhere yet? Lydia Kang was generous enough to give me a copy during her recent blog give-away, and I cannot express to you how much I'm now in love with this book. (Thank you SO much, Lydia!)

Photo Courtesy of Goodreads
Here's the Amazon.com description: 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.


Jandy Nelson has a BA from Cornell, an MFA in poetry from Brown, and another MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's a literary agent, a published poet and a devout romantic. The Sky Is Everywhere is her first novel.

Here's the official Book Trailer from Penguin Young Readers:


Nelson's poetic roots are so clear in this novel, because it almost reads like a work of poetry. Her metaphors and similes are so fresh, beautiful and... right... that they nearly fly off the page. The characters are crazy three-dimensional (and bizarre), and the love story--stories, actually--are absolutely stunning. The way she describes a first love is so realistic and all-consuming that it leaves you breathless.

My favorite part of the novel, however, is the adoration and heartbreak Lennie feels toward her deceased big sister, Bailey. It inspired me to jump on the phone and tell MY big sister how much I love and appreciate her. I'm sure you will feel the same way if you have siblings.

In short, FIVE out of FIVE stars from this girl. The Sky is Everywhere not only entertains you; it also inspires you to become a better writer--and sibling.

6 comments:

Lydia Kang said...

Yay, so glad you liked it! It was an unputdownable book for me too. :)

Deana said...

I think I've just added another book to my Christmas wish list. This sounds right down my alley:)

Tricia J. O'Brien said...

I loved that book and for the same reasons you did. Gorgeous and moving. (came over from Lydia's tweet)

Sarah Ahiers (Falen) said...

ooh, i haven't read it, but that sounds excellent!

LisaAnn said...

@Lydia: It was so funny, because I got so mixed up with my emotions that I felt like crying and laughing at the same time!

@Deana: DO it. You won't be sorry!

@Tricia: Thanks for coming over! Following you now, too.

@Falen: Oh my gosh, it's just beautiful.

Dinda Amanda said...

Banned complain !! Complaining only causes life and mind become more severe. Enjoy the rhythm of the problems faced. No matter ga life, not a problem not learn, so enjoy it :)

Cegah Kanker Mulut Dengan Konsumsi Ikan
Obat Kuat Alami Untuk Suami
Cara Hidup Sehat Untuk Penderita Kolesterol
Manfaat Yang Ada Di Dalam Kopi Bagi Kecantikan Kulit
Obat Leher Kaku Dan Sakit
Anak Terkena Asma Dan Alergi Bisa Sebabkan Penyakit Jantung
Vitamin Yang Bagus Untuk Penambah Nafsu Makan Anak
Obat Alami Pilek Menahun Untuk Ibu Hamil
Cara Alami Agar Kulit Bersih Dan Mulus
Cegah Penyakit Diabetes Dengan Jalan Kaki Selama Dua Menit
Obat Alami Pemutih Lutut Dan Siku Yang Hitam